The CSE department’s success in educational endeavors is attested to by our receipt of the inaugural University of Washington Brotman Award for Instructional Excellence (see articles in Columns, the UW alumni magazine, and University Week), a departmental teaching award.  

Stuart RegesThree CSE faculty members have received the College of Engineering Faculty Achievement Award, and five have received the University of Washington Distinguished Teaching Award. In 1996, Ed Lazowska became the first member of the College of Engineering to be named the University of Washington Annual Faculty Lecturer, and in 1998 he received the University of Washington Outstanding Public Service Award.

In 2000, David Notkin received the UW Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award. Eleven CSE faculty members have been recognized with endowed positions.

Each year, CSE undergraduates also select one faculty member to recognize at graduation with the UW ACM Teaching Award.