glass ball

The Paul G. Allen School is widely regarded to be among the top computer science and engineering programs in the nation and in the world, and this is reflected in the quality and commitment of our faculty. The following list represents national and international awards and recognition earned by our faculty members for their impact through research, teaching and service.

Allen Distinguished Investigators

Fellows of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Fellows of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence

Fellows of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL)

Fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award

ACM Prize in Computing

ACM and Computing Research Association (CRA) service awards

  • Paul Beame — ACM SIGACT Distinguished Service Award, 2021
  • Dan Grossman — ACM SIGPLAN Distinguished Service Award, 2015
  • Richard Ladner (emeritus) — CRA A. Nico Habermann Award, 2008
  • Ed Lazowska — ACM Distinguished Service Award, 2009
  • Ed Lazowska — ACM Presidential Award, 2005
  • Ed Lazowska — CRA Distinguished Service Award, 2005
  • Paul Young (deceased) — CRA Distinguished Service Award, 1996

ACM, IEEE, and other field awards

  • Richard Anderson — ACM Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics
  • Tom Anderson — USENIX Lifetime Achievement Award, 2014
  • Tom Anderson — USENIX Software Tools Award, 2014
  • Tom Anderson — IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award, 2013
  • Tom Anderson — ACM SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award, 2005
  • Byron Boots — Robotics: Science and Systems (RSS) Early Career Award, 2020
  • Luis Ceze — IEEE TCCA Young Computer Architect Award, 2013
  • Luis Ceze and Karin Strauss (affiliate) — ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award, 2020
  • Pedro Domingos (emeritus) — ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award, 2014
  • Pedro Domingos (emeritus) — IJCAI John McCarthy Award, 2019
  • Susan Eggers (emerita) — ACM-IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award, 2018
  • Anna Karlin — ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award, 2020
  • Richard Ladner (emeritus) — SIGCHI Social Impact Award, 2014
  • Richard Ladner (emeritus) — SIGACCESS Award for Outstanding Contributions to Computing and Accessibility
  • Richard Ladner (emeritus) — NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award, 2019
  • Jennifer Mankoff — SIGCHI Social Impact Award, 2022
  • Barbara Mones — ACM SIGGRAPH Distinguished Educator Award, 2021
  • Shayan Oveis Gharan — EATCS Presburger Award for Young Scientists, 2021
  • Emina Torlak (now at Amazon) — ACM SIGPLAN Robin Milner Young Researcher Award, 2021

CHI Academy

CRA-W Anita Borg Early Career Award

Fulbright Awards

Guggenheim Fellowships

Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Fellows of the International Association for Pattern Recognition

MacArthur Fellows

Microsoft Research Faculty Fellows

Moore Foundation Data Driven Discovery Investigator Award

Moore Inventor Fellow

Members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

  • Tom Anderson, National Academy of Engineering
  • David Baker (Adjunct), National Academy of Sciences
  • Phil Bernstein (Affiliate), National Academy of Engineering
  • Dave Cutler (Affiliate), National Academy of Engineering
  • Susan Eggers (emerita), National Academy of Engineering
  • Joe Felsenstein (Adjunct), National Academy of Sciences
  • Phil Green (Adjunct), National Academy of Sciences
  • Lee Hood (Affiliate), National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine
  • Eric Horvitz (Affiliate), National Academy of Engineering
  • Anna Karlin, National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering
  • Ed Lazowska, National Academy of Engineering
  • Hank Levy, National Academy of Engineering
  • Carver Mead (Affiliate), National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering
  • Maynard Olson (Adjunct), National Academy of Sciences
  • Mari Ostendorf (Adjunct), National Academy of Engineering
  • Radia Perlman (Affiliate), National Academy of Engineering
  • Rick Szeliski (Affiliate), National Academy of Engineering

Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors