most significant bits
newsletter of uw computer science & engineering
volume 21, number 1, spring 2011
university of washington
CSE logo
 home CSE Home    MSB archive Spring 2011 MSB    MSB Archive   Contact Info Contact Info 
CSE Security & Privacy Research Chair's message Reges wins UW teaching award News Warren Jessop retires Datagrams Awards Alumni Achievement Awards Hank Levy elected to NAE Anokwa wins UW grad medal Two win Borg Scholarships Mark Bun wins Goldwater Dodge to competitive workshops CHI Best Paper to HS student Capstone courses Digital design capstone Audio capstone
msb21.1 PDF

Give to CSE

We all know the difference one line of code makes to the success of new software. In the same way, one gift of any size makes a difference to the success of CSE teaching and research. Your gift provides the department with resources for scholarships, fellowships, research support, and funds to build the CSE community we hope you value. As you think about your giving, please consider making a gift to CSE. Every gift, regardless of size, helps maintain a quality experience for students that reflects the sense of community you've come to expect from us. Give online.

About MSB

MSB is a twice yearly publication of UW CSE supported by the Industrial Affiliates Program.

Editor: Kay Beck-Benton
Contributors: Ed Lazowska, Hank Levy, Sandy Marvinney, Alexei Czeskis, Hannah Hickey
Photo credits: Bruce Hemingway, Mary Levin, S. Morris Rose

We want to hear from you!

Do you have news you’d like to share with the CSE community? Comments or suggestions for future issues of MSB? Let us know! Email the editors at and be sure to visit us online at:

Sign up for MSB email

MSB is now available via email. To sign up, send an email to
  msb at

From where I sit...

Hank Levy

The end of the academic year is a chance to reflect on recent accomplishments of the UW CSE community. For example, just a few months ago, two of our newer faculty received prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships, bringing CSE's nation-leading Sloan total to 17! Anup Rao received the award for his research in theoretical computer science, and Georg Seelig (who has a joint appointment with Electrical Engineering) for his work in programming DNA and RNA molecules. Shwetak Patel (also joint with EE) received the 2011 UW College of Engineering Junior Faculty Innovator Award. Stuart Reges received UW's Distinguished Teaching Award — the fifth CSE faculty member to receive this highest award given at UW for teaching. James Landay was recently elected to the CHI Academy for his contributions to Human-Computer Interaction, and Dieter Fox was elected a 2011 Fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, our fourth AAAI Fellow (most recently preceded by Pedro Domingos, who received this honor in 2010). Our students, too, continue to do amazing things — in this issue of MSB you'll learn about the national champion Cyber Defense Team, two new Google Anita Borg Scholars, graduate student Yaw Anokwa's UW Graduate School Medal, undergraduate student Mark Bun's Goldwater Scholarship, high school student Akash Badsha's "Best of CHI" award, and many other phenomenal accomplishments.

We continue to have lots of interaction with many of our former students. For the second year, we will honor two of our most successful alumni at our graduation ceremony with the CSE Alumni Achievement Awards. This year's honorees are Anne Condon (PhD '87), head of computer science at the University of British Columbia (as of July 1), and Jeremy Jaech (MS '80), one of Seattle's most successful entrepreneurs, and co-founder of Aldus, Visio, and Trumba. As well, Ed Lazowska ran a terrific Leadership Seminar Series this spring that featured alumni and friends, who shared their career path experiences with CSE undergrads. It's been great catching up with so many of these talented people and learning about all they've accomplished. Seminar guest speakers included Greg Badros (Facebook), Wayne Yamamoto (founder of Charity Blossom), Brad Fitzpatrick (Google), Crystal Hoyer (Microsoft), Tam Armstrong (Bungie), Lauren Bricker and Hélène Martin (CS teachers at Seattle's Lakeside and Garfield High Schools), Jeremy Jaech (entrepreneur), and Brett Helsel (Isilon Systems). We are looking forward to meeting many of our Bay Area alums at an event to be held at Pixar on June 30th; for information, please contact Kay Beck-Benton (

Finally, UW will soon have new leadership. Mark Emmert resigned as UW president last year to become president of the NCAA. Just a few weeks ago, at a press conference held in the Allen Center, Michael Young was introduced as UW's new president by Herb Simon, chair of the Board of Regents. President Young, who has been president of the University of Utah since 2004, immediately won us over by displaying a deep knowledge of Utah's many ground-breaking accomplishments in computer graphics! We are excited to welcome President Young and are looking forward to having his experience, talent, and interest in computer science in the university's top leadership post.

Wishing all of you a happy, healthy, and fun summer!

Hank Levy signature
Henry M. Levy
Chairman and Wissner-Slivka Chair
CSE logo
Computer Science & Engineering Box 352350, University of Washington Seattle, WA 98195-2350 Privacy policy and terms of use