The National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship is a highly competitive, portable fellowship that is awarded to U.S. citizens and nationals who intend to pursue a doctoral degree in one of fifteen supported disciplines. NDSEG confers high honors upon its recipients, and allows them to attend whichever U.S. institution they choose. NDSEG Fellowships last for three years and pay for full tuition and all mandatory fees, a monthly stipend, and up to $1,000 a year in medical insurance.

Students apply directly for this award. 

Year Awardees
1997 Jonathan Aldrich
1998 Mark Berryman
1999 Donald J. Patterson, III
2000 Steven Dietz, Aaron Shon 
2002 Alexander Yates
2003 Julia Letchner, Benson Limketkai
2005 Kayur Patel
2007 Allan Carroll, Jonathan Hsieh
2008 Thomas Lin, Alan Ritter
2011 David Rosenbaum
2014 Eric Whitmire