Hank Levy, Paul Allen, Ed Lazowska
Hank Levy, Paul G. Allen, Ed Lazowska

Funded on an annual basis with earnings from the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering Endowed Fund for Excellence

In 2017 — the 50th anniversary year of Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington — the late Paul G. Allen committed $40 million and Microsoft committed an additional $10 million to create an endowment to support the program. In recognition of these transformational commitments, and a long history of other significant gifts to the University of Washington, the Department of Computer Science & Engineering became the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering, elevating the profile of CSE within the university and linking it in perpetuity with the internationally renowned investor, philanthropist and computing pioneer.

It is our goal that earnings from the Allen Endowment not be permanently allocated to specific activities, but rather be flexibly utilized to support important initiatives. The annual funding of Paul G. Allen Career Development Professorships to recognize our most outstanding young faculty is one such initiative.

Holders of the Paul G. Allen Career Development Professorship

  • Kevin Jamieson, 2023-present
  • Katharina Reinecke, 2023-present
  • Zachary Tatlock, 2023-present
  • Huijia (Rachel) Lin, 2022-present
  • Stefano Tessaro, 2022-present
  • Su-In Lee, 2021-present
  • Yin-Tat Lee, 2020-2023