Amazon logoEstablished in 2012 with a gift of $2,000,000 from Amazon

At the initiative of Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos, this endowment was established to enhance the University's ability to recruit and retain distinguished faculty in machine learning as that field may evolve. The endowment was established with sufficient funds to create two professorships, each of which is known as the Amazon Professorship in Machine Learning.

Holders of the Amazon Professorships in Machine Learning

Carlos Guestrin, 2012-2021
Noah Smith, 2021-present

Emily Fox, 2012-2021