The David Notkin Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Computer Science & Engineering, established in 2013, has two purposes: to enable UW Computer Science & Engineering to recruit the strongest graduate students in the nation and the world, and to honor the scholarship of David Notkin, his leadership in the field of computer science, and his contributions to UW CSE.

David received his Sc.B. from Brown University in 1977 and his Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University in 1984, when he joined the University of Washington faculty. A world leader in software engineering, David served as CSE chair from 2001-06, and was honored with the Boeing Professorship, the Frank and Wilma Bradley Endowed Professorship, and the Frank and Wilma Bradley Endowed Chair.

An extraordinary mentor, David received the University of Washington Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award in 2000. His philosophy about working with students follows that of his own adviser, Nico Habermann: "Focus on the students, since graduating great students means you'll produce great research, while focusing on the research may or may not produce great students."

We invite you to join in honoring David by supporting the David Notkin Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Computer Science & Engineering. Contributions may be made online here. For stock transfers and pledges, please contact Ed Lazowska (lazowska at

Complete information on Notkinfest here

April 22 2013:  David Notkin succumbed to cancer at 3:30 a.m.

Year Awardee
2013-2014Eric Gribkoff
2014-2015James Bornholt
2015-2016Julian Michael
2016-2017Martin Kellogg
2017-2018Saadia Gabriel
2018-2019Samantha Miller
2019-2020Bhargavi Paranjape
2020-2021Amy Zhu
2021-2022Madeleine Grunde-Mclaughlin
2022-2023Carina Imburgia
2023-2024Lillian Li